Places in Kenya

Village of Yimbo:
Yimbo is located 40 miles west of Kisumu town. Kisumu lies on the equator thus the climate is hot all year round. Likewise, Yimbo has a few rainy seasons between March and June and in November. Majority of the villagers live off subsistence farming.
Although Luo is the local language, Swahili is spoken amongst many while English is sparsely understood.

This is the main focus for the annual humanitarian trips. All expeditions include a four day stay in the village to visit with the villagers, complete on-going projects and conduct needs assessments for future projects.

Checkout the google map of Yimbo


City of Kisumu:
Kisumu is a port city in western Kenya at 1,131 metres (3,710 ft), with a population of 355,024 (1999 census).
It is the third largest city in Kenya, the principal city of western Kenya, the capital of Nyanza Province and the headquarters of Kisumu District. It has no municipal charter. It is the largest city
in Nyanza Province and second most important city after Kampala in the greater Lake Victoria basin.

All expeditions will spend at least a night in Kisumu enroute to Yimbo. This is where all the supplies for the days
spent in Yimbo will be purchased.

Kisumu literally means a place of barter trade "sumo". The city has "Friendship" status with Cheltenham, UK and "Sister City" status with Roanoke, Virginia, USA.

City of Nairobi:
Nairobi is the capital and largest city of Kenya. The city and its surrounding area also forms the Nairobi Province. The name "Nairobi" comes from the Maasai phrase Enkare Nyirobi, which
translates to "the place of cool waters". However, it is popularly known as the "Green City in the Sun". All expeditions will begin in Nairobi.

Founded in 1899 as a simple rail depot on the railway linking Mombasa to Uganda, the town quickly grew to become the capital of British East Africa in 1907 and eventually the capital of a free Kenyan republic in 1963.[2] During Kenya's colonial period, the city became a center for the colony's coffee, tea and sisal industry.[3] Nairobi is also the capital of the Nairobi Province and of the Nairobi District.

Nairobi is the most populous city in East Africa, with an estimated urban population of between 3 and 4 million. Home to many companies and organizations, including the United Nations Environment Programme and the UN Office in Africa, Nairobi is established as a hub for business and culture.

City of Nakuru:
Nakuru is the provincial capital of Kenya's Rift Valley province, with roughly 300,000 inhabitants, and currently the fourth largest urban centre in the country.
It is also the capital of Nakuru District. Nakuru serves as the mid-point stop for road excursions from Nairobi to Kisumu. Expeditions will take advantage of the stop to visit Lake Nakuru National Park, famous for the vast numbers of flamingoes that can be seen
foraging in the shallow lake.

City of Mombasa:
Mombasa is the second largest city in Kenya, lying on the Indian Ocean. It has a major port and an international airport. The city is the centre of the coastal tourism industry. The original
Arabic name is Manbasa; in Swahili it is called Kisiwa Cha Mvita (or Mvita for short), which means "Island of War", due to the many changes in its ownership. The town is also the headquarters
of Mombasa District which, like most other districts in Kenya, is named after its chief town.